Doctor Eclectic
Doctor Eclectic
VSI Episode 9
2
0:00
-20:42

VSI Episode 9

Corbin Jones on fly neuroscience
2

Speaking of science fiction, you know I never actually saw this movie as a kid?

From 1958, The Fly, with Vincent Price. Pasting Jones’s face into this photo for t-shirt making purposes is exactly the sort of nerdly time-wasting shenanigans we got up to during exhausted off-moments during graduate school. Obviously, I’m far too mature for that sort of thing now …

Original Blurb from 2011

Ever see The Fly?  Not the gross-out Jeff Goldblum version, the original one where the guy has the head and hand of a fly.  No?  Just asking.

This was a long episode, and even so, I had to cut the venerable Saga Morinda, wherein your heroes drive from Greensboro to Florida in search of the legendary "fruit that smells like feet."  I lost my second cell phone in a year and GoogleMaps screwed us --again-- so that, with minutes to closing time, we were stuck in traffic on the other side of a gator-infested canal.  Only time I've ever seen mild-mannered Corbin mad enough to pound a steering wheel.  OK, so it's really more of a short story ("The Saga Morinda").  Maybe just an anecdote.

Updates from 2021

Honestly, I got nothing here. I haven’t actually spoken to Jones at all in over a year, and rarely for several years before that, given his small children and workaholic professorial lifestyle. This is one of the situations that made me consider a reunion tour.

Share

REFERENCES from the show

Oliver Sacks was recently the subject of an American Masters episode on PBS, which I totally missed.

Octanoic acid (also found it goat milk!)

Morinda Fruit (aka “Cheese Fruit”?)

https://cosmosmagazine.com/archaeology/neanderthals-ate-fresh-herbivores-not-rotten-meat

2 Comments
Doctor Eclectic
Doctor Eclectic
For now, I'm reposting episodes of my first podcast, VSI: Variation Selection Inheritance, a show about evolution in all its forms. That includes life, culture, and technology, examined through interviews with experts, reviews of pop science and pop culture, and my own individual rantings.
This show was made possible by the National Science Foundation, through the BEACON Center for the Study of Evolution in Action.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Randall Hayes
Recent Episodes
  Randall Hayes
  Randall Hayes
  Randall Hayes
  Randall Hayes
  Randall Hayes
  Randall Hayes
  Randall Hayes
  Randall Hayes