Doctor Eclectic
Doctor Eclectic
VSI Episode 20
0:00
-11:26

VSI Episode 20

review of the Holiday Lectures, 2011

Original Website Blurb from 2011

Relative quiet. My loving family went outside so that you, my loyal listeners (all 27 of you) would not be disturbed by the clicking of dog claws or the piping voices of the neighborhood moppets. Then the doorbell rang, of course. It was the fundraiser girl, delivering me my dozen doughnut gift certificate from Krispy Kreme. I wish I could remember what she was raising funds for...

Listening to this, I hope it doesn’t come across that I’m ragging on Tim White. People get intense about things they care about. Activists in particular require intensity to fire their audiences up to actually DO things. But activists are usually talking to people who already agree with them. If you’re convincing rather than activating...

In any case, it will be a great exercise for my teachers [meaning graduate education students] to watch and critique someone else. It’s very difficult to do that kind of process thinking about yourself, especially during your own performance. One thing we did at the Faculty in Training program at GTCC was videotape ourselves, so we could do those kinds of post-game analyses. It was helpful.  In fact, I want to recommend that program, run by English professor MacGregor Frank, to any locals who are looking to make the switch to teaching.  I would not be where I am today without it.  Thanks, Mac.

Share

Updates from 2021

Mac Frank retired. I know FIT still exists, but nothing about who runs it now.

0 Comments
Doctor Eclectic
Doctor Eclectic
For now, I'm reposting episodes of my first podcast, VSI: Variation Selection Inheritance, a show about evolution in all its forms. That includes life, culture, and technology, examined through interviews with experts, reviews of pop science and pop culture, and my own individual rantings.
This show was made possible by the National Science Foundation, through the BEACON Center for the Study of Evolution in Action.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Randall Hayes
Recent Episodes
  Randall Hayes
  Randall Hayes
  Randall Hayes
  Randall Hayes
  Randall Hayes
  Randall Hayes
  Randall Hayes
  Randall Hayes