Doctor Eclectic
Doctor Eclectic
VSI Episode 2
3
0:00
-17:31

VSI Episode 2

The Man from Earth
3
Movie poster for Man from Earth
Movie poster for ‘The Man from Earth.’ Wikipedia. The review is towards the end of this second episode.

This short 17-minute episode was originally recorded in 2011, blurbed this way on the original website. There is a short glitch about 2:50, which I never caught in the original version (I was very new at audio editing then), and which I may get around to correcting at some point.

This is the first one recorded on my new toy, a Sony digital voice recorder with an Olympus noise-canceling microphone.  I think it sounds much better without the background hum from my laptop, but let me know. 

It was a comedy of errors trying to find a spot quiet enough to record.  My office has a window air conditioner, and the rain made it ring like a tin roof.  I moved into the next room, and the photocopier started its racket.  Doors slamming, shoes squeaking, the beating of that hideous heart under the floor... no, wait--never mind.  I even tried recording in the Prius while my kid was at aikido class.  It was after bedtime at 9pm before I got something workable.  Lots or practice on the reading, though, so it sounded fairly smooth.  Only a couple of flubs.

References

This is probably not the same video that Atala showed at NC Academy of Science. It’s still cool, a decade later.

Mark Pizzato

The Man from Earth on Wikipedia

3 Comments
Doctor Eclectic
Doctor Eclectic
For now, I'm reposting episodes of my first podcast, VSI: Variation Selection Inheritance, a show about evolution in all its forms. That includes life, culture, and technology, examined through interviews with experts, reviews of pop science and pop culture, and my own individual rantings.
This show was made possible by the National Science Foundation, through the BEACON Center for the Study of Evolution in Action.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Randall Hayes
Recent Episodes
  Randall Hayes
  Randall Hayes
  Randall Hayes
  Randall Hayes
  Randall Hayes
  Randall Hayes
  Randall Hayes
  Randall Hayes