Doctor Eclectic
Doctor Eclectic
VSI Episode 19
0:00
-29:29

VSI Episode 19

with Barbara Oakley, systemic empathizer

Original Website Blurb from 2011

Today is the first part of a three-part interview with Barbara Oakley. I was on the phone with her for about two and a half hours, and I still didn’t get to ask nearly all the questions I wanted. In fact, she did some kind of interview aikido on me and got me talking.

I met Barbara Oakley at the Contact Conference at NASA Ames a couple of years ago, where she was plugging a previous book, Evil Genes: How Hitler Rose, Rome Fell, Enron Failed and My Sister Stole My Mother’s Boyfriend, which I really enjoyed and blogged about some this summer. We will not be talking about that book today. However, that title should give you some small idea of what talking to her is like. Our conversation jumped around a lot, but kept returning to some themes over and over, which made editing it a real pain.

One of the things that got cut was a cool bit of trivia: Simon Baron-Cohen, who did all the empathizing/systematizing work as a way to get at autism, is the cousin of Sasha Baron-Cohen.  Yet another experiment I'll never get to:  see if literacy shifts people towards systematizing, as you might expect from reading Leonard Shlain's The Alphabet vs. the Goddess.  There go those connections again.

Share

0 Comments
Doctor Eclectic
Doctor Eclectic
For now, I'm reposting episodes of my first podcast, VSI: Variation Selection Inheritance, a show about evolution in all its forms. That includes life, culture, and technology, examined through interviews with experts, reviews of pop science and pop culture, and my own individual rantings.
This show was made possible by the National Science Foundation, through the BEACON Center for the Study of Evolution in Action.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Randall Hayes
Recent Episodes
  Randall Hayes
  Randall Hayes
  Randall Hayes
  Randall Hayes
  Randall Hayes
  Randall Hayes
  Randall Hayes
  Randall Hayes