Doctor Eclectic
Doctor Eclectic
VSI Episode 18
0:00
-28:42

VSI Episode 18

Freddy Herrera, graduate student

Original Website Blurb from 2011

My roommate Corbin introduced me to Jorge Cham’s strip while we were in grad school. I was always a fan of comic books over comic strips, but this was clearly the work of a guy who had been where we were. He made a point of doing the movie version with actual grad students because he wanted to underline the fact that these are multifaceted individuals, not cardboard cutouts in white lab coats. NOVA Science Now is trying to do similar things in their "Secret Life of Scientists" series, but trying to make us cool is probably going too far. It smacks of PR, where Dr. Cham’s comics are mostly about frustration.

http://www.phdcomics.com/comics/aboutcomics.html

Next I ran across Randall (no relation) Monroe’s XKCD, which I freely admit I sometimes do not get. Maybe I should stop reading them in random order...

http://xkcd.com/about/

And now the science-geek comic field has grown enough to become self-referential

http://www.calamitiesofnature.com/archive/?c=585

and will inevitably collapse under the weight of its own pomposity when it overreaches and declares itself “collectible.”  Unless the Internet becomes self-aware and unleashes Terminators on us first.

Share Doctor Eclectic

Updates from 2021

No Terminators so far, though I did watch all of The Sarah Connor Chronicles in May and early June, once I realized that Lena Headey was the lead.

Very busy at Governor’s School. It’s 5:17am as I type this.

0 Comments
Doctor Eclectic
Doctor Eclectic
For now, I'm reposting episodes of my first podcast, VSI: Variation Selection Inheritance, a show about evolution in all its forms. That includes life, culture, and technology, examined through interviews with experts, reviews of pop science and pop culture, and my own individual rantings.
This show was made possible by the National Science Foundation, through the BEACON Center for the Study of Evolution in Action.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Randall Hayes
Recent Episodes
  Randall Hayes
  Randall Hayes
  Randall Hayes
  Randall Hayes
  Randall Hayes
  Randall Hayes
  Randall Hayes
  Randall Hayes