Doctor Eclectic
Doctor Eclectic
VSI Episode 11
0:00
-12:42

VSI Episode 11

sister spawn
Oh, that’s annoying. I kind of hate that. But then, I mostly hated the Super Friends as a kid, so I guess that’s consistent.

Original Website Blurb from 2011

It's been a busy week.  My niece and nephew have been visiting.  In between being interviewed by the Border Collie Rescue people and replacing light fixtures and watching elephant dissections and disrupting one of the Mandrill's pheremonal feminazi cells at a posh French spa, we found time to record a podcast.  I swear to you, as soon as I turned the recorder off, they stopped using words like "colossus" and started laughing and cracking jokes again. 

That conversation went on for another half hour (delaying my bedtime even further), and slalomed from birth control to whether humans are still evolving to the relative contributions of biology and culture to whether it's boring to be the big fish in a small pond.  Should have just palmed the recorder and left it running.

Anyway, it's great to be back.

Updates from 2021

Both of the Wonder Twins (who are not actually biologically twins, just siblings who get along) have neat and interesting lives, which I will not detail here because they are adults and I didn’t ask their permission. Also it’s time for breakfast.

REFERENCES from the show

Gatton Academy at Western Kentucky University

Gray Fossil Site in Tennessee

ground sloths on Wikipedia

FURTHER READING / LISTENING

Lectures

0 Comments
Doctor Eclectic
Doctor Eclectic
For now, I'm reposting episodes of my first podcast, VSI: Variation Selection Inheritance, a show about evolution in all its forms. That includes life, culture, and technology, examined through interviews with experts, reviews of pop science and pop culture, and my own individual rantings.
This show was made possible by the National Science Foundation, through the BEACON Center for the Study of Evolution in Action.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Randall Hayes
Recent Episodes
  Randall Hayes
  Randall Hayes
  Randall Hayes
  Randall Hayes
  Randall Hayes
  Randall Hayes
  Randall Hayes
  Randall Hayes