Doctor Eclectic
Doctor Eclectic
VSI Episode 10
0:00
-12:01

VSI Episode 10

Bear Week

This black bear was treed off US 29 by the N.C. A&T campus in Greensboro on May 29, 2019. H. SCOTT HOFFMANN/News & Record

Original Website Blurb

Poking around the Podbean lists yesterday while I was tagging and categorizing episodes (there's a lot of this social media cross-promotion stuff that I've so far been too busy to deal with), I was struck by how many of these podcasts only have two or three episodes.  Even some that looked really cool, like the rebuilt HMS Beagle, sailing around the world.  Allow me to assure you, my current and future listeners, that such is not the case here.  Yes, I am taking a summer vacation.  Yes, I will be back in August, if not before.  I'm having far too much fun with this, and we're just getting started.

Updates from 2021

This original run made it for 68 episodes, which is about 13 week’s worth, at the 5/week rate that I am posting them.

The HMS Beagle Project seems to exist, still, though I’m not entirely sure from the website how much progress they’ve made. There was also a full-size replica of the Beagle built in 2016. My next-door neighbor is a French builder of modern wooden boats (and a video game nerd). I would love to ask him some questions “on tape.”

The Western Flyer, the fishing boat used by John Steinbeck and Ed Rickets in The Log from the Sea of Cortez, a pretty famous marine biology adventure book from the early 1950s (though one I’ve not read) is being similarly restored with Kentucky white oak, logged from the campus of Berea College, near where I grew up.

Bears Continue to Pop Up Occasionally

The latest were in 2019. Sadly, they usually die in town, either killed by cars or, more quietly, by local officials who consider them too dangerous to capture.

GREENSBORO — The Triad has had at least three sightings of black bears over the past week, all of them likely of juvenile males recently cast out of their dens by their mothers and searching for territory of their own.

REFERENCES from the show

Bear biologist Chris Morgan now has a website with stuff about his various documentaries and writings.

Thinking in Systems is still a pretty great book, decades later.

The Donella Meadows Project goes beyond her book.

PBS Nature is over 30 years old now. Many, many good things here.

0 Comments
Doctor Eclectic
Doctor Eclectic
For now, I'm reposting episodes of my first podcast, VSI: Variation Selection Inheritance, a show about evolution in all its forms. That includes life, culture, and technology, examined through interviews with experts, reviews of pop science and pop culture, and my own individual rantings.
This show was made possible by the National Science Foundation, through the BEACON Center for the Study of Evolution in Action.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Randall Hayes
Recent Episodes
  Randall Hayes
  Randall Hayes
  Randall Hayes
  Randall Hayes
  Randall Hayes
  Randall Hayes
  Randall Hayes
  Randall Hayes